Gluten is a protein found in the endosperm of certain grassy grains, such as wheat, rye and barley. Gluten is responsible for much of the elasticity, leavening (as a reaction to yeast) and chewiness in baked goods. Buddhist monks created meat substitutes from wheat gluten, which are still eaten today in the form of seitan. However, Individuals with celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten (which is different than an allergy to gluten) and must eat a gluten-free diet; corn, quinoa, millet, sorghum, teff, amaranth, buckwheat, rice, and wild rice do not contain gluten and are safe for people with celiac disease.
- Thirsty Thursday: 5 Best Gluten Free Summer Cocktails
- Gluten Free Foodie Friday: 5 Must Try Recipes
- Homemade Allergy Friendly Gnocchi
- California Pizza Kitchen Goes Gluten Free!
- Friday Fun Links: Gluten Free Week-in Review
- Gluten Free Foodie Friday: Recipes We Love
- Celiac Saturday: Gluten Free Rhubarb Roundup
- Gluten Free Almond-Elderflower Tea Cakes with Lemon Thyme Icing
- 5 Sinful Gluten Free Desserts
- The Wish List's Jennifer Esposito Diagnosed with Celiac