Question: Would Ocean Pout be kosher according to Jewish dietary laws?

June 8, 2011


Chris Paulk's picture

No It would not be Kosher.

From Kosher Quest:

Fish which have fins and scales are kosher. Fish which only have fins are not kosher. Of the four types of scales, clenoid, cycloid, ganoid and placoid, only clenoid and cycloid scales are valid according to the Torah. Gandoid is the type found on sturgeon and placoid is found on shark.There is no prohibition against eating fish blood, other than the fact that people may think that a person is eating prohibited blood, and ritual slaughter is not required. The scales must be true scales that can be removed without damaging the skin of the fish. As it says in the Torah – "These you may eat of the fishes, all that have fins and scales…" (Vayikrah XI:9-12) Bony tubercles and plate or thorn-like scales that can be removed only by removing part of the skin are not considered scales in this context. Some fish that have such scales, such as eels, lumpfish, shark, sturgeon, and swordfish, are not kosher.

All shellfish and mammals (such as whales, and dolphins) are not kosher. Only the eggs of kosher fish, such as fish roe or caviar, are allowed, therefore supervision is necessary. Care must be taken when buying fresh, whole fish, filleted, or frozen, because of the possibility of substitution by non-kosher fish or of contamination by remnants of non-kosher fish from knives and cutting boards. Fish sticks have three problems: the fish, the oil, and the frying utensils and equipment (which is usually used for non-kosher fish as well as kosher fish). Smoked fish is frequently soaked in brine and then smoked along with non-kosher fish. According to Jewish law, this soaking and smoking is tantamount to cooking over a flame and therefore the product is not kosher. Smoked fish is also often packed in oil, which may not be kosher. Although herring is famous as a Jewish food, it is not always kosher. The preparation of herring can pose a myriad of problems among which are mono- and di-glycerides, non-kosher wine vinegar or wine, sour cream, bread crumbs, spices, and equipment contamination.

For good sources try: or